2022 New York Film Critics Circle Winners List – The Hollywood Reporter


This has been announced by the New York Film Critics Circle tar as the best movie of 2022.

The group of critics voted on Friday on the winners of 2022 with Tar star Cate Blanchett named Best Actress and Colin Farrell selected Best Actor for his work in both After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherinwith the latter winning Best Screenplay for writer-director Martin McDonagh.

Best Direction went to S.S. Rajamouli for RRR. no‘s Keke Palmer won the Best Supporting Actress award Everything Everywhere Everything at onceKe Huy Quan was named Best Supporting Actor just days after winning a similar award at the Gotham Awards.

Best Animated Film went to Marcel the shell with shoes onand Laura Poitras’ All the beauty and the bloodshed won best non-fiction film.

Other winners were EO for the best foreign language film and Top gun: Maverick‘s Claudio Miranda for Best Cinematography.

The 42-member group of critics that counts The Hollywood ReporterDavid Rooney’s chief film critic among its members also presented three special awards.

Imprisoned Iranian filmmaker Jafar Panahi, who was arrested this summer during a wider crackdown on artists across the country and is serving a six-year prison sentence, was recognized “For his tenacious courage as an artist, and for the humanity and beauty of a body of work produced under the most oppressive circumstances.”

And dGenerate movies was recognized “for their invaluable work in bringing independent films from China to a wider audience.”

The NYFCC recognized curator, distributor and publisher Jake Perlin for what it was called “are indispensable contributions to film culture.”

The NYFCC began voting announcement of the award of cash prizes to two students, Nico Pedrero-Setzer and Greg Nussen, who focus on film criticism/journalism and study in the New York City area.

Last year, the NYFCC was selected Drive my car as the best photo of 2021.

A full list of the 2022 NYFCC winners follows.

Best Movie: Tar
Best Director: S. S. Rajamouli, RRR
Best Actor: Colin Farrell, After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherin
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Tar
Best Screenplay: Martin McDonagh, The Banshees of Inisherin
Best Supporting Actor: Ke Huy Quan, Everything everywhere at once
Best Supporting Actress: Keke Palmer, no
Best Animated Film: Marcel the shell with shoes on
Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Top gun: Maverick
Best First Film: After sun
Best Foreign Language Film: EO
Best Non-Fiction Film: All the beauty and the bloodshed
Special Award: Jake Perlin
Special Prize: dGenerate Films
Special Award: Jafar Panahi

Founded in 1935, the organization’s membership includes critics of daily newspapers, weeklies, magazines and qualifying general interest online publications. Every December, the group meets in New York to vote on awards for the previous calendar year’s films.

In addition to the regular categories, including Best Picture, Director, Actor and Actress, special stand-alone awards are given to individuals and organizations who have made substantial contributions to the art of cinema, including producers, directors, actors, writers, critics, historians, film restorers and service organizations.

The awards will be presented in New York in January.

The Valley Voice
The Valley Voicehttp://thevalleyvoice.org
Christopher Brito is a social media producer and trending writer for The Valley Voice, with a focus on sports and stories related to race and culture.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

Winning ticket in $1.35B Mega Millions jackpot sold in Maine

Lottery officials said one winning ticket was sold in...

Cubs To Sign Trey Mancini

The Cubs have agreed to sign Trey Mancini according...

Russia-Ukraine war at a glance: what we know on day 326 of the invasion | Ukraine

Russia carried out two massive rocket attacks...