College Football Playoff to expand to include 12 teams no later than December 2026


The new format will launch in 2026, but the board has instructed the College Football Management Committee to implement the expansion earlier, after the 2024 or 2025 season.

“More teams, more participation and more excitement are good for our fans, alumni and student athletes,” Mark Keenum, Mississippi State president and chairman of the College Football Playoff Board of Managers.

“I am grateful to my colleagues on the board for their thoughtful approach to this issue and for their determination to get expansion across the goal line and for the extensive work of the Management Committee that made this decision possible.”

The four-team playoff format began during the 2014 college football season after decades of the Bowl Championship Series in which two teams were selected to play in a bowl game referred to as the National Championship game.

Keenum continued: “I am very pleased that we have achieved this and look forward to expanding. The four team play-off has been very popular and successful. I believe this new format will be even more popular and successful.”

A 12-team play-off requires 11 games, eight more than the current format.

The board, a group of 11 university presidents and chancellors, said the field will feature the six conference champions ranked highest by the selection committee and the other six highest-ranked teams.

The four highest-ranked conference champions will receive a first-round bye.

The other eight teams will play four games — seed No. 12 at No. 5, No. 11 at No. 6, No. 10 at No. 7, and No. 9 at No. 8.

Four games in the quarter-finals and two games in the semi-finals of the playoffs would be played as bowls, with the host venues being different each year.

The match for the national championship will be played on a neutral ground. The scheduled host for the 2025 game that concludes the 2024 season is Atlanta, and the 2025 season title game will be played in Miami.

U.S. conference commissioner Mike Aresco said officials from his league were delighted with the news.

“We have been staunch supporters of the 12-team playoff model, including the six highest-ranked conference champions, since it was originally proposed by the College Football Playoff Working Group in June last year, and I am pleased to see the CFP Board of Managers unanimously supported this model,” he said.

Big 12 Commissioner Brett Yormark tweeted it was a great day and the larger playoff field will increase fan interest and put more emphasis on the regular season.

Pac-12 officials said the expanded field is “the right thing for our student athletes and fans.”

Georgia is the defending National Champion of the Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, having entered the playoff as the No. 3 seed after losing the conference championship game.

The Valley Voice
The Valley Voice
Christopher Brito is a social media producer and trending writer for The Valley Voice, with a focus on sports and stories related to race and culture.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this