Eagles name Jalen Hurts and 6 other captains for 2022


The Eagles have announced seven captains for the 2022 season, as voted by players:

• Jalen hurts

• Jason Kelce

• Lane Johnson

• Brandon Graham

• Fletcher Cox

• Darius Slay

• Jake Elliott

In Doug Pederson’s last season as head coach, he stripped players of the vote and appointed captains himself. Nick Sirianni had players vote in his first year as head coach. That’s what happened again in year 2.

Jalen hurts: The 24-year-old is captain for the second consecutive season. No surprise. He is the starting strategist and also has a natural leadership ability. Players began to be drawn to Hurts even when he was the backup as a rookie in 2020. He is the youngest of the Eagles’ seven captains.

Jason Kelce: The 34-year-old center is captain for the fifth consecutive season as he enters his 12th NFL season. Kelce has just returned from an elbow injury/surgery and is expected to be ready for the season opener in Detroit on September 11.

Lane Johnson: For whatever reason, the Eagles only had two offensive captains last year. They will add Johnson to the mix in 2022. The veteran judge tackle finally looks completely healthy and is motivated by missing the Pro Bowl in 2021.

Fletcher Cox: Like Kelce, this is Cox’s fifth consecutive season as captain of this team. And like Kelce, there’s also a chance this could be Cox’s last season with the Eagles. He will play the 2022 season on a $14 million one-year deal. Cox recently said he’s taken the time to appreciate everything a little more this summer.

Brandon Graham: Graham, another returning captain, has been awarded the honor four times in the past six seasons. Graham, like Kelce, is 34 and he is coming from an Achilles tendon injury that ended his 2021 season very early. But Graham looked healthy in training camp and the Eagles hope he still has it. This year will be Graham’s 13th season with the Eagles; he is the longest running athlete in town.

Darius Slay: The Eagles are letting Rodney McLeod roam free and Slay has taken his place as captain. Slay is entering his third season with the Eagles and is as advertised at cornerback. But he has also been a leader. Slay has always been happy to help young players on both sides of the ball and this is a great honor for him.

Jake Elliott: The Eagles kicker comes from his best professional season and a Pro Bowl honor. Captaining the Eagles special teams last season was Alex Singleton, who walked as a free agent.

Here’s a look back at the captains year by year since the Eagles began naming them in 2017:

2017: Carson Wentz, Jason Peters, Malcolm Jenkins, Brandon Graham, Chris Maragos

2018: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Kamu Grugier-Hill

2019: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Kamu Grugier-Hill/Duke Riley

2020: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Jason Peters, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Duke Riley, Craig James

2021: Jalen Hurts, Jason Kelce, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Alex Singleton

2022: Jalen Hurts, Jason Kelce, Lane Johnson, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Darius Slay, Jake Elliott

Subscribe to the Eagle Eye podcast

Apple Podcasts | Google Play | Spotify | stitcher | Art19 | Watch on YouTube

The Valley Voice
The Valley Voicehttp://thevalleyvoice.org
Christopher Brito is a social media producer and trending writer for The Valley Voice, with a focus on sports and stories related to race and culture.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this