Mets’ Buck Showalter named NL Manager of the Year


The New York Mets’ Buck Showalter was named National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday night, becoming just the third person to win a fourth award and the first to win with four different franchises.

Showalter, the first Mets manager to win the award, received eight of 30 first place votes, 10 second place votes and 77 total points, edging out runner-up Los Angeles Dodgers skipper Dave Roberts , left behind. Roberts also garnered eight first place votes, but only had four second place votes for 57 points. Atlanta’s Brian Snitker, who won the award in 2018, finished third with 55 points. He received seven first place votes.

Voting was done by a panel from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and took place before the postseason.

The 66-year-old Showalter has now won Manager of the Year in four different decades, his previous awards being for the New York Yankees (1994), Texas Rangers (2004) and Baltimore Orioles (2014). The other four-time winners are Hall of Famers Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa.

“The game has changed,” Showalter said of his four awards in four decades. “But in many ways it’s stayed the same.”

Under Showalter, the Mets made the postseason for the first time since 2016, losing in the wild card round to the San Diego Padres.

After three seasons away from the dugout, Showalter led New York to 101 wins, the most of any team he has led in 21 seasons. The 101 wins also marked the Mets’ highest total since the club won 108 games in 1986. New York finished tied for first place with the Braves in the NL East, though the Braves won the division crown in head-to-head games. draw.

Five different managers received multiple votes for first place — Showalter (8), Roberts (8), Snitker (7), Oliver Marmol of the St. Louis Cardinals (5), and Rob Thomson of the Philadelphia Phillies (2).

The 50-year-old Roberts led the Dodgers to a franchise-record 111 wins, a high for an organization that has made the postseason in each of Roberts’ seven seasons in the dugout, including six NL West titles.

Roberts, who was named NL Manager of the Year in 2016, has a career winning percentage of .632 in the regular season. That is the highest percentage of all time among managers of any baseball league in existence.

Only Bullet Rogan, Vic Harris and Rube Foster, all of whom were successful in the Negro Leagues, have higher lifetime win percentages.

Snitker, 67, has grown from a career coach and minor league manager to a fixture in the annual NL Manager of the Year award.

The Braves’ 101 wins in 2022 were the most in Snitker’s six-plus seasons with the franchise he has worked for since 1977. Atlanta extended its streak of NL East titles to five.

The past two seasons have helped Snitker Atlanta weather disappointing starts, only to catch fire late in the season. In 2021, the Braves’ season-ending hot streak culminated in a World Series championship.

The Braves didn’t get that far in 2022, losing in the NLDS to a red-hot Phillies team. Still, on August 10, Atlanta trailed the Mets in the division race by seven games before coming all the way back to win the division.

Snitker has finished in the top four in NL Manger of the Year balloting for five seasons in a row.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

The Valley Voice
The Valley Voice
Christopher Brito is a social media producer and trending writer for The Valley Voice, with a focus on sports and stories related to race and culture.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this